Running Chronicles (Intro)

This is not going to make sense you guys, but let me be honest.  In the past, I absolutely hated exercise, but loved the adrenaline rush you got from it. See! I did say it wouldn’t make sense.  Maybe you can relate when I say that cardio was my least favourite thing to do at the gym.  This however has changed in just about a year and a half. I mean I loved the idea of running, but my endurance was horrible.  It goes without saying that everyone has to start somewhere.  I’ve tried countless times to get into the groove of running, but failed miserably. Failure is never an option to me so I just kinda put it on pause.

Flash forward to 2015 when I was introduced to hashing and fell in love with it. I’m an outdoors person to my very core.  The only things that scare me are the creepy crawlies and well of course darkness.   Hashing requires a certain fitness level, that is if you’re gonna be running the trail.  A level I was nowhere near at the time, and that was my motivation.  I wanted to be able to run up and down a hill without my lungs and heart cursing me out. I began to run at Skinner’s Park when my schedule permitted.  Other days I’d run on the treadmill. I did this so much, I was given the name “Treadmill Banton” by my peers. When I started off running, I could only go for about 2 minutes without stopping. Endurance came gradually and of course with progress comes a great desire for “what next”.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetMy friend Safiya was always down for a run and was with me throughout this journey. We started entering races and our first “big” race was the 2015 UWI Spec International Half Marathon.  Our goal for that was to just finish in the allotted time, which we did, albeit with great struggle.  After the race I swear I could not feel my legs, and I felt like I wanted to pass out.  Yet the hunger for more intensified.

img_0434In 2016 we signed up for the inaugural Sea to Sea Marathon in Tobago after much debate.  Just about a week before the race came Achilles Tendinitis, but even an injury couldn’t stop me.  I was able to complete the race and beat my UWI Spec time, but I did so in a great deal of pain. The Sea to Sea event far exceeded our expectations. It was somewhat like a festival and showcased our Trinidad and Tobago culture at its best, and is an event we’re looking forward to for years to come. Since then, due to my injury I was forced to take it easy with the mileage, and after the recovery I’ve stuck to 5k runs on average.

So what’s next?  Well I hope to run my first full marathon in 2017 and will soon begin my training.  I still have two minds about it but we’ll see how it goes.  If you have any questions or if you’re in my area and wanna go for a run, please feel free to let me know in the comments or you can contact me HERE.  Running has definitely changed my life.  I wasn’t a complete grump before, but I feel like I’m always happy now, even when I’m sad.

Thanks for reading.  I know this post was a bit longer than my usual heheheh.

Love, light and longevity,

Dee

4 comments

Leave a Reply

