Running Chronicles: POSHHH Run #936

This was the Port of Spain Hash House Harriers’ 936th run.  The run was set in Freeport, which is Central Trinidad.  You wouldn’t believe how much I prayed for rain, as last year’s Freeport hash was brutal due to the heat.  This venue isn’t very forested, so you’re basically just running in large open cane fields with little to no shade, yet scenic all the same.  A hard trail run in my opinion consists of HILLS.  The Freeport trail was mostly flat with a few small hills here and there, but let me tell you, the heat made it HARD. Surprisingly I didn’t drink as much water as I do usually.  The “beer stop” at the half mark contributed to that I think, as I gulped down a nice cold one in less than a minute.

I finished the run in 1:31:08 with a distance of 5.36mi. Average pace was 17 min/mi, which is not too bad for a trail run for me as I walk a bit when it gets hilly, or in this case dying from the heat.  All in all you can’t beat a good run with great people.  That’s how I love my Saturdays. It’s quite a compromise to give up two Saturdays a month for hashing, but I adore this group of people and hashing breaks up the monotony that is my life.  Once completing a hash run, I always feel a sense of great accomplishment, which is something I’m always compelled to share with my comrades.

See my post on  Hashing for a bit more insight.

Here’s a video by HRL:

 

Love, light and longevity,

Dee

P.S. If ever you’re in the mood for a trail run, let me know.  We’d love to have you.

Leave a Reply

