I’ve Let Myself Go

  • I stopped running.
  • My meals got bigger (compensation for my Lenten diet…but still).
  • Started doing drugs again (kidding…although I do classify SUGAR as a drug).
  • Snacking went into overdrive.
  • Scared to hop on the scale (body feels like a 5 lb weight gain).

Living

A part of me feels okay about this…and a part of me feels terribly guilty. ¬†In my defense school is primarily to blame for the change in my routine. ¬†It’s not going to be forever right? Well that’s what I told myself 10 years ago…and here we are. Working full-time and going to school part-time is NO JOKE. ¬† You have to make many sacrifices. One¬†I never really thought I’d have to make was giving up exercise. ¬†In the past, even if I ran once for the week I didn’t feel so bad. ¬†It’s been 3 weeks and I haven’t ran at all, nor have I even done any at home workouts. ¬†This pains me, but I’m too tired to even entertain the thought of a run.

fitness-training-cartoons-PupLnW-clipart.jpg
If you read my first post this year¬†about setting goals, then you’d know that I am wayyyyyyy off course. ¬†For me, the hardest part about falling off the horse is not the actual fall (unless you were thrown violently), but getting back on. ¬†The rare days I get a good night’s rest and have a little spare time to go for even a short run, I always end up lazing around…because right about now, nothing feels more fulfilling. I hate to even say that because I’m usually quite active. ¬†I feel even worse because there are so many women out there balancing what I do, but with the added responsibility of taking care of their families as well. And to these strong ladies…I salute you!

tumblr_static_bld73lk673ks8k444scgc4k4g.png

I am hopeful this¬†slump will have an end…sooner rather than later…as I look down at my protruding tummy. ¬†I mean I know it will…but I sometimes feel to let it all go and be an unfit ball of mush. Alas I cannot let that be, because in my heart of hearts I know that it will truly make me unhappy. ¬†Thankfully my semester ends in approximately 5 weeks, so hopefully I’ll get back on track.

Oh wait! I totally forgot I have a race coming up! :::GASP:::

5975023f6310c54d5d8db0113d911319_-running-tattoos-turtle-running-turtle-clipart_870-857.png
So I guess this means I should probably start training right? Or find a way to tell my running partner I may not do the race… I let you know how that pans out.

Do you ever feel this way? How do you recover from a slump? Help ah sister out nah.

Until next time…

Update: I didn’t make it to this race either.

 

 

Love, light and longevity,

Dee

3 comments

  1. Girrrrlll I have been in a slump for like a YEAR! I’ve gained 30 pounds. THIRTY!! Thanks to wayy too many binge fests and far too little running. I will say 10 of those pounds might have been necessary, but the extra 20 DEF not. So now I am trying to get back on…and holy hell it’s hard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

